Retrieved 9 June The age of consent in Michigan is 16 and there is no close-in-age exception, unless one is an authority figure in which case the age of consent is Reasonable mistake of age, or similarity in age, is not a defense to these offenses. In March the Michigan Senate passed a bill which was to prohibit sexual relations between students of any age and teachers. Byrne had refused to sign the bill into law. Previously the age of consent was 14, the lowest in the United States.
There is also a partial exception for consensual sex between a minor who is 11, 12, 13, or 14 years old, and a defendant who is younger than
New York Statutory Rape Laws
The age of consent in North Carolina is Outline Index Book Category Portal. Non-intercourse sexual activity is also regulated based on age. This offense is a Class B felonywhich is punishable by at least five and up to 25 years in prison. The age of consent is